Guards Club Park & Bridge
Guards Club Park was created by the Civic Society to commemorate the Queen's Silver Jubilee in 1977 and has been maintained by the Royal Borough since 1980. This is beyond doubt the Society’s most ambitious – and most visible – achievement.
Originally, the Brigade of Guards Boat Club provided recreation for the officers who were stationed at Windsor and Pirbright. A large clubhouse contained a ballroom while outside there was a swimming pool, croquet lawn and on the island, a boathouse. There is also a unique ornate footbridge, built around 1865, which leads to the island.
The bridge was rescued by the Society in 1976 and first renovated in the mid-1980s, with further renovation and strengthening in 1997. There is little remaining of the boathouse apart from the spire which now covers the shelter in the park.
Read the whole story of the background to the Guards Club and the creation of the park here.
Back to Amenity and Environment